Cap Corse, Corsica; June 2013

About Me




I grew up in Slovenia, a small south-central European country on the sunny side of the Alps. It covers 20,273 square kilometers (that's 7,827 square miles for non-metric users), with a population of about 2.06 million. That's the population of Houston an area slightly smaller than Maryland. Yeah.

Historically, it's been an independent country since June 25th, 1991. But it's had a rich history before that, going back all the way to the Roman Empire.
Geographically, it's beautifully located between the Adriatic Sea and the Julian Alps on its west, and extending to the Pannonia plain on the east. Over half of the country is covered by forests, making it great for camping, hiking, swimming, or spending time in nature in whatever way you desire.
There's a rich cultural history in the area, extending from dance to festivals to cuisine, art, and sports.
As you can see, I'm very proud of it. And everyone that I've met that has visited it has told me that it is one of the most beautiful places they have been to. I miss it. You should definitely go visit.

Here it is!

I grew up in the fourth biggest city in the country (population 55,000) up to the end of my second year of high school. At that point, I decided to join a boarding school in Brentwood, Essex, in the United Kingdom, to participate in an International Baccalaureate high-school program.
After living there for two years, and obtaining the high school diploma, I moved to Miami, Florida, in the United States, for a bachelor's degree at the University of Miami. And for the palm trees. And there is a lake on main campus. Seriously.
During my undergraduate studies, I got the opportunity to participate in a research project in Professor Shuyi S. Chen's group, which I later joined to pursue a PhD degree in Meteorology and Physical Oceanography.

Besides graduate school, which is taking up most of my time, I also very much enjoy travelling. I grew up visiting a lot of places with my family, and I love exploring new places as much as I did when I was 6. Luckily for me, doing research in the science fields gives me opportunities to travel to conferences, and I travel on my own, or with friends, outside of that.

In my free time, I enjoy outdoor activities like cycling and swimming that the weather in Miami permits year-round. But when I get the chance, skiing, hiking, and camping trips are always a welcome addition.
Reading (non-science) books is also a great hobby of mine - at the moment, I'm working on 'The Buried Giant' by Kazuo Ishiguro. But I'm also a fan of Neil Gaiman and I think that the way he blends magic with the real world is amazing. I'm also very interested in psychology, and the way the human mind works, from a popular science perspective.

The maps above (and to the left) are showing the places that I've visited so far. There's many more to go, and I'm so excited about exploring those. Since I'm now based in the US, the main objective is to see/visit/hike every national park that I can find, and it's a mission that fills me with a sense of adventure. Road trips are awesome!

Find me on